Glory to God

It’s so easy sometimes to just float through life.  We’ve got so much work, kids, church, hobbies, relationships, sports, kids activities, etc.  Our lives are filled with so many things that we can easily forget what our purpose is.  When I talk of purpose, I’m not talking about each person’s “individual” purpose in life.  I don’t know what that is (only Rick Warren does apparently…).  I’m talking about the purpose God created us for.  The shorter catechism states that purpose as, “Man’s primary purpose is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.”  Now, volumes and volumes can (and have) been written about those 11 simple words.  I’m not really going to expand much on that today.  But what I do hope to do is tell you a story that may bring you back a little bit to our purpose.  I heard this story from a friend of mine tonight in our small group, and it served as a jarring reminder of God’s purpose for us.

My friend (we’ll call him “Clay”) is a pool guy.  While that may not sound like a noble profession to some, I will tell you that there is probably not a person I know who is more passionate about doing his job to God’s glory than Clay, the pool guy.  (There’s probably not a more humble guy I know either, which is just making me enjoy writing this way about him all the more!  He’s embarrassed right now reading this even though he’s totally anonymous at this point.)  Clay has a regular account down in Ahwatukee that he has been servicing for about the last year.  During that time he has frequently spoken with the next door neighbor.  Generally, these interactions consist of Mr. Next Door Guy asking him little questions about his own pool.  This doesn’t bother Clay, because he’s a talkative guy so he enjoys the conversation.  So, this simple relationship has continued for the past year or so, Clay working on the pool, while also sharing small talk through the fence with Mr. Next Door Guy. 

This morning, Clay showed up at this particular home, just as normal.  As he was working Mr. NDG said hi through the fence and asked if he would be willing to come over and check out a leak when he was finished.  Clay said of course.  So, he went over to check on the problem, and as I said before he’s talkative, so he asked how Mr. NDG was doing.  Mr. NDG proceeded to tell him that his wife had recently served him with divorce papers and he was pretty torn up about it.  In fact, he was actually contemplating taking his life because he didn’t know what else to do.  They talked some more and he revealed some things that gave some explanation of how he and his wife had gotten to this point, including descriptions of his own sinful behavior that had contributed greatly to the split.   Feeling God’s prompting, Clay confronted him that his marriage was falling apart because Jesus was not the center of their relationship, and as well Jesus was not the center of Mr. NDG’s life.  In order  to start to reconcile this relationship, he was first going to have to be reconciled with God.  Through the next few minutes he was able to share the gospel, and to help him understand his need for a savior.  Ultimately, they prayed together and to God’s glory, this man was saved today. 

As we were talking about this amazing story tonight, Clay made some profound observations about God’s will and purpose through what happens in our lives.  He pointed out that God took a simple thing (Clay getting this particular customer’s business) and used that route to put Clay in a position today to preach the gospel to this guy.  God had this planned out the whole time!  It was not “just another business transaction” the day that Clay got this sale.  God actually had a much higher purpose for it right from the beginning. 

How many times do we pass by opportunities like this because we’re just going about our business?  Now, I’m not challenging God’s sovereignty here, he purposed this moment to happen and all that.  I get it.  What I’m suggesting is that God still moves in powerful ways in people’s lives today, but we’re too busy to notice.  We’re too busy worrying about ourselves to slow down and seek out these opportunities to preach the gospel to hurting people.  There’s something terribly sad and disappointing about that. 

I hope this amazing “God Story” has encouraged and uplifted you like it has for me.  God didn’t save us and then leave us here to run around acting like all this crap we’re doing is important.  We need to see the big picture.  God saves sinners.  One of the ways he does that is through you and I sharing the gospel with lost people.  He doesn’t NEED us, but he USES us just the same to accomplish it.  Our prayer today should be that we can open up our eyes to what God’s doing around us.  Why does he have us in whatever situation we’re in?  It’s not random, I can tell you that. 

Have a great weekend.

3 Responses to “Glory to God”


  1. 1 Clay April 9, 2010 at 6:06 AM

    Funny thing was, was that after he got saved I looked at his pool and almost said that he needed to get baptised. I didn’t say that though because I felt his wife and 7 year old son needed to be there to see it.

    Jesus is God

    Clay

  2. 2 Leah April 9, 2010 at 3:04 PM

    This doesn’t surprise me! You see, “Clay the pool guy” IS my pool guy!! And I can’t tell you what a God-send Clay has been to me and my husband. Most of all, Clay does everything that he does, as if he was doing it in God, with God, and FOR God! I’m a breast-cancer survivor and a while back I was having yet another exploratory surgery because I had found a lump. Clay took the time to sit and pray with me about the upcoming surgery and give all the glory to God and uphold me in prayer. Clay didn’t have to do this with me, but he did! And yes, all glory to God — NO cancer! Clay isn’t “just” my pool guy, he’s a trusted man of God who truly has a heart for those that God has put in Clay’s path. I should know. I’m one of them!

  3. 3 David April 9, 2010 at 3:24 PM

    Now everyobdy’s gonna be like, “Who is this Clay and how do I have him to do my pool?” I think he owes me lunch.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Archives


