Pitiful – Song of the Week

I feel like my favorite songs are mostly older for some reason.  I’m not sure exactly why that is.  Perhaps it takes me a while to warm up to songs or something.  I don’t have answers for this, so we’ll just plow ahead.

This song is by a band named Blindside and it comes off their 2002 album “Silence.”  It’s a simple little song, but I like the imagery it conveys to me. 

As I recall with my stomach turning
I was hiding away from myself, away from you
Like nothing, though something was terribly wrong
And I admit that I was only waiting for the right time
Night time, the right moment for you to look away
Though you never did, I pretended for a while
So I could walk where I don’t belong

And I remember every word you said
Come back in time, come back
And I remember I would soon be dead
Now so pitiful, so pitiful

But I know, as I hammered those nails into your beautiful hands
Your eyes still try to search for mine, but I look away
Now your eyes are the only thing that can save me
I’m still so afraid of them piercing
You’re breaking into my prison,
Just pretended for a while
My soul is dying
I won’t look away

And I remember every word you said…

I’ll remember every word you said
This time I won’t look away

0 Responses to “Pitiful – Song of the Week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives


