Reading is Fundamental

Last weekend I ordered a number of books that I want to read and I got the first shipment in today.  I’m pretty dang stoked about it.  In fact, I already started reading one.    Here is the list and a brief synopsis of each book:

Money, Greed, and God – Why Capitalism is the Solution and not the Problem by Jay Richards

Jay breaks down what he describes as eight simple myths about capitalism and why they distort our thinking.  They are:

The Nirvana Myth (contrasting capitalism with an unrealizable ideal rather than with its live alternatives)

The Piety Myth (focusing on our good intentions rather than on the unintended consequences of our actions)

The Zero-Sum Game Myth (believing that trade requires a winner and a loser)

The Materialist Myth (believing that wealth isn’t created, it’s simply transferred)

The Greed Myth (believing that the essence of capitalism is greed)

The Usury Myth (believing that working with money is inherently immoral or that charging interest on money is always exploitive)

The Artsy Myth (confusing aesthetic judgments with economic arguments)

The Freeze-Frame Myth (believing that things always stay the same – for example, assuming that population trends will continue indefinitely, or treating a current “natural resource” as if it will always be needed)

If you know me, you know that I am completely excited about reading this book, in fact this is the one I’ve already started and will be the one I read first.  I’m looking forward to what he has to say, because I have to admit it’s tough to argue with some of these “myths” since they are so much a part of the conventional wisdom.  Can’t wait…

Just Do Something , A liberating approach to finding God’s will – Or How to make a decision without dreams, visions, fleeces, impressions, open doors, random Bible verses, casting lots, liver shivers, writing in the sky, etc. by Kevin DeYoung

Yes, that’s honestly the full title of the book.

Too often, DeYoung writes, God’s people tinker around with churches, jobs, and relationships, worrying that they haven’t found God’s perfect will for their lives.  Or – even worse – they do absolutely nothing, stuck in a frustrated state of paralyzed indecision, waiting…waiting…waiting for clear, direct, unmistakable direction.  But God doesn’t need to tell us what to do at each fork in the road.  He’s already revealed His plan for our lives; to love Him with our whole hearts, to obey His Word, and after that, to do what we like.

This one caught my eye partly because of the title, but also because I’ve known many people in my life who seem to have struggled with the question of “God’s specific will for this moment.”


Counterfeit Gods – The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope That Matters by Timothy Keller

Success, money, true love, and the life you’ve always wanted.  Many of us placed our faith in these things, believing they held the key to happiness.  The recent economic meltdown has cast a harsh new light on these pursuits.  In a matter of months, fortunes, marriages, careers, and secure retirement have disappeared for millions of people.  No wonder so many of us feel lost, alone, disenchanted, and resentful.  But the truth is that we made counterfeit gods of these good things – gods that can’t give us what we really need.  There is only one God who can wholly satisfy our cravings – and now is the perfect time to meet Him again, for the first time.

I actually own this book and already read it, but I gave it to a friend a couple weeks ago.  I really want to read it again (slower this time – I read very quickly normally) so that I can digest some more from it and also share with you a lot of what it says.  I found this book very timely, and it was VERY convicting on my own heart.  I can’t wait to get back into it.  Someone else called it Keller’s best book, and I can’t argue with that.

Finally Alive by John Piper

Why is the church so ineffectual and characterised by the mosaic generation as unchristian?  The term born again has been devalued both in society and in the church.  recent social studies surveys have shown that those who regard themselves as born again Christians have the same tendency to divorce as people who aren’t Christians at all!  In these surveys, being born again is defined by what people say they believe.  The New Testament defines Christians very differently.  Piper defines new birth biblically and helps us to embrace the reality of it.

I don’t know much more about the book than that Amazon product description.  I imagine it will challenge me pretty strongly.

A Father’s Gift – Lessons from Proverbs by Kenneth Wingate

Many young parents today are beside themselves with anxieties about their children, and, sadly, confusion too about how to nurture them. The ongoing addiction of our times to the heresy of modernity and its proud rejection and ignorance of the tested and tried wisdom of the past, inevitably leads to dysfunction in home and family life. Sadly, the older, wiser counsel of God s Word, and especially of the book of Proverbs, is unknown or neglected. Yet Proverbs was composed specifically as a manual for home and family instruction, and to prepare us for life in the world. It is a divinely given handbook to help parents.

Proverbs and Ken Wingate following them shows us the way to possess the jewel of all jewels in a well-adorned life: wisdom that is rooted in the knowledge of, and reverential love for, God. Here is true wisdom that will prove to be worth its weight in gold in every age and culture. Ken Wingate now brings it into our needy culture, and I for one am grateful to him for sharing his gift as a father with other fathers and mothers, and sons and daughters too.

Here then is a book for parents to read on their own; for teenagers to read on their own; for parents and teenagers, who are willing to take the family challenge, to read round the table after dinner or on other occasions. It points us to God s way. It promises us God s grace. What could be better for us than that?

Another book I don’t know a whole lot about, but I definitely fit the category of a “young parent” who could always use guidance on how to teach and nurture our kids.  I’m very excited about going through this book and sharing it with our children.

Prayer’s of an Excellent Wife and Water of the Word by Andrew Case

These are companion books, one for husbands and one for wives.  They are written to help teach each how to pray God’s Word for their spouse.

These are our Valentine’s gifts for each other, and I’m looking forward to getting into them.

As you can see, I have a lot of reading ahead of me!  As I mentioned earlier, I tend to read quickly, and although I am typically able to hold on to certain things from what I’m reading I’ve decided that I need to slow down.  I think it will be good for me to read more deliberately, perhaps even taking notes (ugh), and praying that the Holy Spirit will apply what I’m learning to my life.  I’m looking forward to sharing with you as I work through them.

0 Responses to “Reading is Fundamental”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Categories

Archives


